I’m Sorry, Please Forgive Me


These are such intense times.  Everyone I talk with seems to be having extreme experiences… either directly via interpersonal explosions or health issues (biological explosions); or indirectly via family or work-related dramas activating like wild fire.  One friend just had a suicide in her family yesterday.  Even electrical and mechanical “beings” are demonstrating erratic behavior or breaking down.  Then of course the huge issues in our world at large are building pressure, triggering much fear and its various “byproducts,” like anger.  The energies are in an uproar… a great dismantling and purging of heaviness, darkness, density, and falsity is underway, and emotionally it often shows up in the form of unleashing.  Creating personal balance and sanctuary has got to be given priority in these conditions.

Today someone refered to the expression of anger as being a release of emotion.  Makes sense; ‘expression’ means to express, or press out.  Release/relieve pressure.  I’ve had the opportunity to witness releasing of my own anger around a certain theme recently.  It’s a dreadful feeling, the un-peace of such an activated painful emotion thrashing around in deep need of resolution and healing, compounded by the harsh self-judgment that comes with it!   I wonder why I’m not just living in bliss, you know?  “I’m a spiritual being; I should be in a state of perpetual love!”  Guilt sweeps over me… I beat myself up… it’s a whole ordeal.

Today I revisited ho’oponopono. It has a simplicity, innocence, and also responsibility that I truly appreciate when I work with it.  The following is quoted from the man who brought the practice to public attention, Dr Hew Len; just thought I’d post it here for my own reminder.  Maybe it’s something you could use at this time as well?

Ho’oponopono is really very simple. For the ancient Hawaiians, all problems begin as thought. But having a thought is not the problem. So what’s the problem? The problem is that all our thoughts are imbued with painful memories, memories of persons, places, or things.

The intellect working alone can’t solve these problems, because the intellect only manages. Managing things is no way to solve problems. You want to let them go! When you do Ho’oponopono, what happens is that the Divinity takes the painful thought and neutralizes or purifies it. You don’t purify the person, place, or thing. You neutralize the energy you associate with that person, place, or thing. So the first stage of Ho’oponopono is the purification of that energy.

Now something wonderful happens. Not only does that energy get neutralized; it also gets released, so there’s a brand new slate. Buddhists call it the Void. The final step is that you allow the Divinity to come in and fill the void with light.

To do Ho’oponopono, you don’t have to know what the problem or error is. All you have to do is notice any problem you are experiencing physically, mentally, emotionally, whatever. Once you notice, your responsibility is to immediately begin to clean–to say, “I’m sorry. Please forgive me.”

I’ve been asking for forgiveness lately…  It helps.

BTW… much of the forgiveness I seek is my own.

Leave a Reply

