Which Prayer Speaks to (for) You?


In November 2008 I posted The Lord’s Prayer and The Sovereign Soul’s Prayer to Creation together so readers might contemplate the differences between them. I’m here now reprising that piece with a third version of the prayer added—the version that was “scribed” in A Course in Miracles. I studied the Course back when it was very new on the scene, and hold it in high regard still. I added the Course prayer in between the other two, and removed the original introductory comments.

Which version (if any) speaks to you? Why?

Traditional Lord’s Prayer

Our Father
Who art in Heaven
Hallowed be Thy name.
Thy Kingdom come.
Thy will be done,
on earth, as it is in Heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread;
and forgive us our debts,
as we forgive our debtors.
And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil.
For Thine is the Kingdom,
and the Power,
and the Glory,
Forever.
Amen.

A Course In Miracles version

Forgive us our illusions, Father,
and help us to accept
our true relationship with You,
in which there are no illusions,
and where none can ever enter.
Our holiness is Yours.
What can there be in us
that needs forgiveness
when Yours is perfect?
The sleep of forgetfulness
is only the unwillingness
to remember Your forgiveness
and Your Love.
Let us not wander into temptation,
for the temptation of the Son of God
is not Your Will.
And let us receive only
what You have given,
and accept but this into the minds
which You created
and which You love.
Amen.


Sovereign Soul’s Prayer to Creation
(Oneness Prayer)~

I AM the Mother/Father Creator
Hallowed is the name, I AM.
I AM the Kingdom come,
I AM will being done.
I AM on Earth, even as
I AM in all Kingdoms.
I AM this day giving life to all Creation, even as
I AM all Creation giving life to me.
I AM this day releasing all duality, even as
I AM all duality releasing me.
I AM the Sovereign Witness of the unfolding Now.
I AM the Power, and
I AM the Glory, from
Everlasting, unto Everlasting.
All this
I AM.

Appreciation to Gary Bonnell, who retrieved this ‘prayer of Oneness’ from the Akasha.


One comment on “Which Prayer Speaks to (for) You?

  1. Hi Whitehawk,
    Maybe it is because the prayer is so deeply ingrained in me as part of my upbringing, but to me the Lord’s Prayer is the simplest and most powerful of the three. When I contemplate or speak it, it immediately gives me a feeling of peace and connection with the “Father”–aka my higher self or divine essence. To me, it is an affirmation of oneness and protection.

    An interesting comparison and question!

    Like

Leave a Reply

